Time Moves Too Fast

It always amazes me how fast time seems to slip away from me. I can’t believe my last post was last September. How did I not realize it had been so long since I posted?

I have been working hard at my German class. I can speak German better but not quite to the B1 level yet. I just took my B1 test this morning. I’m really not holding out too much hope that I passed it will flying colors. If I did manage to pass it will be just barely.

Since all my brain surgeries, I have horrible short-term memory. That makes this intensive language class a nightmare for me. I was working with my teacher on the weekends to try to understand the language concepts a bit better but it just takes me longer to get things into my long term memory. Not too much I can do about that.

I did get a second job in October. For the last six months I have been teaching English to children in China for an online school. It has really been a lot of fun and the kids, for the most part, are adorable and so much fun to work with. Occasionally, you get a child who doesn’t want to talk or wants to show you every toy in their room but most of the kids really pay attention and work so hard. It’s great work and it pays pretty decent for a work from home kind of job. I just signed a second six-month contract with the school.

My first job was writing self-published books. I  have two books published under a pen name. It is a western serial. I should have four books out by now but this German class has just taken up too much of my time and I had to put my writing on hold for a while. With any luck, I will be able to get back to writing full-time this summer and still working part-time as a teacher.

I made it to carnival here this year. I came home with pockets full of treats I still haven’t eaten and honestly probably never will. It was fun and weird. I can’t wait for next year. Tony and I go to Trödelmarkts, Fischmarkts, and always look for festivals here. There is always something fun to do.

Tony is still working all over the world and I am here alone with Shaggy most days. Tony and I make our time together really count and spend a lot of time together on the weekends even if it’s just time doing nothing but sitting next to each other on the sofa watching TV or playing cards.

Life here on the other side of the planet is still hard but as I learn more German and can communicate better with those around me here it does get a little easier.

Leave a Reply

