Life and Death

I was planning to blog yesterday but I ended up spending the entire day in bed with a horrible headache. The combination of stress and rainy weather finally got to me.

While lying in bed I did spend a great deal of time texting with Tony and my family in the US. Tony’s aunt passed away yesterday and with any luck he will be able to attend her funeral before he has to come back home. Her death comes just a month after he lost his mother. It’s been a terribly rough 30 days for him and his family. I hate having to stay here in Germany while he is there dealing with all of this but the cost of all of these flights is just too much for us both to go.

I also got word from my sister that my great-nephew received another liver. He was still in surgery in Florida when I got up this morning. With any luck this liver will work and he will be on the road to recovery soon. I’ve been praying to St. Padre Pio to intercede for him.

With everything that has been going on with our families I have spent a lot of time praying. In fact I don’t think I have ever prayed this much even when I was going through all of my medical stuff. Interestingly enough this is the 11th anniversary since my last brain surgery. About this time 11 years ago, I was in the hospital with doctors trying to keep me alive and now 11 years later it’s my great-nephew in the same situation with a different condition. I received a miracle. I am praying hard that he gets one too. The little man is only 9 months old and has almost caught up to me for number of major surgeries. I can’t imagine what his parents are going through.

Today I plan to finish my first installment of my western serial I’m writing. I have got to get my lazy behind in gear and finish it. I have always wanted to work as an author and right now the only thing keeping me from that is me. I have got to quit sitting around thinking about all the bad things that are going on in my family right now. Bad things happen, that’s life. I need to find that balance where I deal with these things but I don’t stop living my own life in the process.

I have actually been wanting to do a blog about how some of the appliances here in our German apartment are different from anything I have ever seen in the US or Denmark. The stove is really weird and hard to use. I need to do this blog quick because one of the burners quit working on the stove and it can’t be fixed so the landlords are having it replaced next week. I’m so hoping for a different style oven. I want to celebrate Thanksgiving here and it will be nearly impossible to do the cooking I want to do with the style of stove we have now.

For now it’s time to go write on the western. I have to go invade the Kansas territories, Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

